Governor AbdulRazaq swears in 2 new commissioners, appoints Accountant General


Kwara State Governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq has on Monday sworn in two new commissioners.

He also approved the appointment of AbdulGaniyu Sani as the new accountant general of the state.

The two commissioner-nominees sworn in are: Florence Olasumbo Oyeyemi and Harriet Adenike Oshatimehin.

The brief swearing in was attended by Chief Judge Suleiman Kawu; Secretary to the State Government Prof. Mamman Saba Jibril; Head of Service Mrs Modupe Oluwole Susan; and the chairman of Kwara APC caretaker committee Alhaji Abdullahi Samari.

Oyeyemi was named commissioner for finance; while Adenike will head the Ministry of Youth Development.

AbdulRazaq charged the new commissioners to be team players and to key into the administration’s commitment to rebuild the state for greatness.

Sani’s appointment, on the other hand, followed the conclusion of a process that began with an advertorial announcing the vacancy for the office in line with the law, according to a statement by Rafiu Ajakaye, Chief Press Secretary to the Governor.

Sani, a chartered accountant and lawyer, beat three others in the job placement screenings to get the top job, The Ravens NG gathered.

A native of Ilorin, the appointee is a finance wonk with decades of experience spanning public and private sectors.

Sani is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN); Nigeria Institute of Management; Association of National Accountant of Nigeria (ANAN); National Institute of Marketing; and Institute of Management Consultants.

He was educated at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (MBA, Finance); Kaduna State Polytechnic (PGD Marketing Management); and Kwara State Polytechnic (OND and HND, Business Administration). He is an alumnus of Ilorin Grammar School.

He was until 2020 the Managing Director of the pan-northern Northern Nigeria Investment Limited (NNIL), a subsidiary of the New Nigeria Development Company Ltd (NNDC) where the appointee was once the Head of the Group Internal Audit between 2006 and 2012. He was also the head of Corporate Services at the NNIL between 2013 and 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here