WTD2022: Shagaya hosts reception for Kwara’s best teachers


The All Progressives Congress Candidate for Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency, Mallam Muktar Tolani Shagaya hosted the recently awarded best teachers by the Kwara State Government in Ilorin West and Asa Local Government Areas, on Saturday, in the spirit of celebrating World Teachers Day 2022 with the awardees and to a roundtable discussion on Educational prosperity in Ilorin West/Asa Local Governments.

In his speech, Shagaya commended the state government for the huge investment in our state education while commending the teachers for their resilience, sacrifice, and dedication toward building a society of value.

“Our society overlooks the importance of education while our teachers go the extra mile in building the future generation. It is my vision that we would get to a state where a kid in our community would compete with others in Developed countries. This invitation is due to the recognition of your great work which was noticed by the Kwara State Government a few days ago.

I believe this roundtable dialogue would not be of celebrating your wins but also seizing the opportunity to have an interface with us and strategize on how to move our education sector forward”.

Speaking at the meetup, Mr. Ganiyu Yusuf Toyin commended Mallam Muktar Shagaya for one its kind initiatives while seeking support on behalf of other teachers on teaching aids and instructional materials for effective learning and teaching process.

Mr. Saad Abdullah emphasized the importance of teachers in society while lauding the recognition received from the state government and Shagaya Campaign Organization with requests for the provision of staff quarters, especially for the teachers in Asa Local Government.

Mrs. Ibrahim Keji Riskat emphasized the positive outcomes generated by Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq’s led administration on investment in education. She appreciated the recognition received from Shagaya Campaign Organization.

In his remarks, Mr. Nuhu Olalekan Abdulhafeez pleaded for more support on school facilities, writing and reading materials for indigent pupils, and marker boards for conducive learning.

Mrs. Okeowo Adijat Abosede appreciated the support while pleading for more interventions to boost academic excellence such as more classrooms, and toilet facilities amongst others.

While giving the closing remarks, Dr. Abdullahi expressed appreciation to the teachers for their unwavering dedication to human development while reiterating that the Muktar Shagaya Campaign Organization believes that our teachers need to be encouraged and the rationale behind celebrating them. He noted that Shagaya has a vision for supporting the education sector like other sectors and charged the teachers to support Shagaya’s ambition to actualize the itemized plans.

The awarded teachers were: Mrs. Olabode Temitope Racheal, Best Performing (Senior)Teacher, Asa Local Government; Mrs. Okeowo Adijat Abosede, Best Performing (Senior) Teacher. Ilorin West Local Government; Mr. Nuhu Olalekan Abdulhafeez, Best Performing (Primary) Teacher, Ilorin West; Mr. Ganiyu Toyin Yusuf, Best Performing (Primary) Teacher, Asa Local Government; Mrs. Ibrahim Keji Riskat, Best Performing (Junior) Teacher, Ilorin West Local Government; and Mr. Saad Abdullahi, Best Performing (Junior) Teacher, Asa Local Government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here