10th Assembly: Akpabio, Saliu Mustapha, others take oath of office


The 10th National Assembly will officially take off with the swearing-in ceremony of the 109 Senators and 359 members of the House of Representatives on Tuesday, The Ravens NG reports.

Top lawmakers from the All Progressives Congress to be sworn in include Senators Godswill Akpabio, Barau Jibrin, Saliu Mustapha, Sani Musa, AbdulAziz Yari, and Ali Ndume.

The event, which has been scheduled for 10 am, will be held at the National Assembly complex in Abuja.

According to a statement signed by the Clerk to the National Assembly, Sani Tambawal, he made it known that senators-elect and members-elect should get their identity cards before D-day.

They are to visit the Senate conference room 231 and the House of Representatives conference room 301, respectively, with copies of their code of conduct clearance, certificates of return and valid identity cards for registration on Monday.

Tambuwal also stated that only the senators-elect and the members-elect will be given access to the legislative chambers.

“Due to the ongoing renovation of the two chambers, senators-elect and Honourable members-elect are to come along with only one guest for the ceremony, who will be seated at the arcade,” the statement read.

It is known that the 10th Senate has the ruling APC as the majority with a total of 59 seats, while the six opposition parties have altogether 50 senators-elect.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here